The Agbon Kingdom (also Agbon ẹkwo-otọ, Agbon clan) is one of twenty-two sub-units of Urhobo culture that have been in existence since before the rise of the Benin Empire in the 1440s and before the arrival of the Portuguese in the Western Niger Delta in the 1480s. It is located in the Delta State of Nigeria which occupies a large space of about 375 square kilometres. This kingdom is surrounded by other Urhobo communities in the locality. The traditional seat of government in this kingdom is at Isiokolo.

According to Oral tradition, The Urhobos migrated from the ancient Bini kingdom which gave rise to this area.

The founders of Agbon migrated through Kwale, probably from Erhowa, settled at Ehwen and Erhivwi or Irri in present Isoko division of Delta State. From there they moved down to Utokori, close to Ughwerun; then to Olomu and through the present Ughelli territory of Ekuigbo to found Otorho r’ Agbon now known as Isiokolo. Isiokolo is now the recognized ancestral place of leadership by the members of this kingdom. The current king of Agbon Kingdom is His Majesty, Michael G. Omeru, (JP) Ukori I, The Ovie of Agbon.

Natural resources

Agbon kingdom produces a variety of food crops, mostly yam, plantain, and cassava. Cash crops as palm produce and rubber plantations also flourish here. Agbon holds a large reservoir of crude oil which is a major source of income to Nigerian; the Erhorike oil wells are considered to be among the shallowest in the world and are found here.


The kingdom is highly populated as it has an extensive range of towns and villages under its territorial domain. It has been ranked the second most populous cultural unit in Urhoboland, coming only after Okpe. The population of this kingdom alone amounts for more than 40% of the Delta state population.

ALSO READ:  List of Local Government in Delta State & Their Capital


The people of Agbon speak Urhobo as their mother tongue with little or no dialectical forms. The Nigerian pidgin is also widespread in this kingdom as well as English, the lingua franca of Nigeria.


Agbon kingdom is made up of a wide array of sub-kingdoms and villages or towns. These sub-kingdoms are the consequences of migrations from one terrain to another.


  • Okpara (first son)
  • Kokori (second son)
  • Eku (third son)
  • Orhoakpor (fourth son)
  • Igun
  • Ovu (descendant of Okpara)

Towns and villages in Agbon Kingdom

  • Isiokolo
  • Ekrebuo
  • Kokori
  • Erhomeghwu
  • Okuidjerhe
  • Samagidi
  • Egbogho
  • Urhwokpe
  • Ekraka
  • Erhonaka
  • Erhorike
  • Okpara Inland
  • Okurutuyo
  • Okurekpagha
  • Unumane
  • Okoradaode
  • Okurufor
  • Okururhujevwe
  • Umiaghwa
  • Okurihohi
  • Okwibada
  • Erhokori
  • Orhuakpor
  • Ekrudu
  • Okwukpokpo
  • Okureghwro
  • Eku
  • Igun
  • Otumara
  • Okpara Water Side
  • Okorogba
  • Okurekpo
  • Okredafe
  • Oviorie
  • Ovu Inland
  • Okuemeka
  • Okurekpagha
  • Okuogbamu
  • Ovwere
  • Urhodo
  • Okumodje
  • Obadjere
  • Ekpan
  • Igwevwore
  • Okwokpokpo
  • Ekusioro
  • Okurobi
  • Okuronika
  • Okuighele
  • Ekirugbo.
  • okuomoise
  • okuisalubi.
  • oku ohwosiri salubi.
  • oku influence salubi.